The fear of the unknown

I have a bunch of books that I only got because the names appealed to me, and if you were ever to take a look to those titles together they might tell you something about my personality. I’m definitely not a sunshine-and-rainbows kind of person.

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Braken, is one of these books. And I have to say that I expected something a little darker, but I guess this is what I get for wandering around the YA section. What can I say?! I’ve found some great books there.

I digress…

Back to the book. It was good. Not great, not just OK. Good. It felt a little like an X-MEN story, but a tad more dramatic considering most kids died instead of getting “super powers”. It felt a bit less comic book and more real, though. In the sense that, I cannot imagine a government or society not responding drastically to some catastrophe like this one.

quote TDMTheir kids are dying when they reach 10, and those who don’t, acquire abilities that clearly go beyond their immature minds to manage responsibly… and of course! Let’s put them all together somewhere faraway, where hey can’t hurt me and I don’t have to think about them.

As bad as it sounds, I seems like what most would do.

But then, of course, it ends up being counter productive. What did they expect the children that grew up in those “rehabilitation camps” would end up doing? I’m sure you can see where this is taking you…

I did expect the main character Ruby, to be more damaged… after all, she spent all her formative years in what is basically a prison, and without love ones. But I guess we can always say: “Kids are resilient”. Right?

All in all, it was an interesting read, but it honestly didn’t really get my blood pumping. There are two more books that follow Ruby’s struggle with herself and what I would call “the grown-ups”, and two more novellas that take on other perspectives for the same events, an make up the whole series… but so far I have not added them to my to-read list. I don’t know if I will…

06-under302

Leave a Reply

