When you get what you want…

In spite of the long time it took me to actually finish Neverwhere, I actually enjoyed it. Even if it was a page at a time over the last three months…

I will definitely have to read it again, to get rid of this nagging voice in my head telling me that i missed the full effect of the book by not being able to enjoy it all in one go. But I can tell you for sure that I like it.

I found it scary, and fun, and wicked, and grabbing, and confusing with a quite satisfying ending… It was good.

Good.

You heard that, too?

It wasn’t awesome. It wasn’t great. It was good.

I think I need to come up with a sort of scale. How good is good… right? I’ll tell you this: I won’t be getting obsessed about this story line, nor these characters. And I am already looking forward to starting a new book and immersing myself in a new world.

But I’m not saying that this book sucked. It didn’t.

I will always remember that creepy and scary part where Richard (that’s the main character) seems to vanish in the minds of everyone. He’s just forgotten. I found that really scary. To simply be forgotten, almost felt like punishment for living a mundane life…

I think that was my favorite part of the book, and it was somewhat at the beginning. I really did enjoy Mr. Croup and Mr. Vandemar, thou. They are the straight-up honestly bad guys. I love that kind of character.

Besides that… I don’t really have much to say.

Leave a Reply

