Phoenix or Firebird

3/5

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

 

One of the first things I noticed about this book is that there seemed to be many, many familiar sounding phrases. But unlike the many names that I’m sure I’ve read in other YA stories, that didn’t annoy me so much. It actually gives it a sense of modernity. It felt like it could be happening right now (except for he lack of selfie-taking teenagers) and that I should be paying more attention to all tresholds in hopes of catching glance of the In-between.

On the negative side, I’m really not a fan of love triangles… And when one of the boys is a childhood friend, that just makes it worst to me. The idea that Echo can so swiftly and easily (without any thought to it) forget all the feeling she had for her life-friend after another one she just met. It bothers me, it really does. And don’t get me started on the fact that he’s disturbingly older than her.

I would have preferred to know and hear more about the Ala. she was the main reason I started reading the book in the first place, and it’s suppose to be ancient and wise, but we don’t really learn much about her or her skills or even about her role in the inner workings of her community. I was disappointed in that regard

What I did enjoy was the descriptions of these new magical species. Feather for hair or iridescent scales on heir faces. They both sound amazing.

My favorite detail was all the mystery surrounding the Firebird. It made me think of phoenixes with all that talk about fire and ashes.

SPOILER ALERT!!

She died to be reborn as a fire-wielding magic creature?! It feels very phoenix-like. Especially when you add the fact that now she’s loaded with souls/memories of past lives.

I guess the only way to figure out what will come of it all and maybe learn more about the Ala will be to read the next book in the series. I’ll add it to my book wish-list, but I just learned a new Throne of Glass book is coming out, so The Shadow Hour may not get any preferential treatment.

Leave a Reply

