Ymbrynes and loops

2/5

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

As you know, I started this book without really being sure what it was suppose to be about, so I spent the first part of it thinking it would be a serious matter about this kid –Jacob– and his trip down crazy street. Or even about how he would discover that the madness that afflicts him is a family trait, and that it affected his grandfather too.

But no. I was mistaken.

I’m, not sure if this is a good thing or not. I would have thought that to be a interesting thing. Who can say that we can’t all relate to that monumental discovery that our parents and grandparents are as flawed as we are?

But I cannot say that I was not intrigued by these peculiar children. Not so much for their powers or personalities, that we don’t learn so much about, but for the circumstances of their lives in hiding.

SPOILER ALERT!!

They live inside a time bubble. Basically. Out of time! How wicked a place to hide!

Time traveling, bending or manipulating has always been another of my many favorite themes in books, but in this story while the idea is there and it is an important one for the development of the story line, we don’t really get to understand how this really came to be.

Yes, the Ymbrynes make these loops, little pockets of time that repeat on themselves endlessly. But, how? Why? What else can they do? How do the reset it? Why must they reset them? How come they fail? So much more that I wanted to know.

I don’t really know what it is that left me dissatisfied about this story. I feel like we spent so much time in some things that might not have been that important, but so little in other things that feel like should have been more relevant.

I don’t know that I would ever really go around recommending this books to other people, that is something I commonly do, but i won’t say that it was bad either. It had some good parts, and  it can be enjoyed with the right mood.

This is the first of a trilogy of books, Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children.

Leave a Reply

