Audio vs. print: Vocabulary

To be completely honest, the first time I re-read Seraphina, will probably be to check out all those words that weren’t quite clear to me. There were, along the whole book, some words that I’m not familiar with (English not being my native tongue and all). Most I could discern for the context and guess what she was referring to, and there were a few that were aimed to descriptions or objects that could be ignored without affecting my understating of the plot. But there were a few that really bothered me.

audiobookI remember the first books I read completely in English, some years ago when I was in school and one of my teachers recommended it as a good way to improve my vocabulary. I used to have to sit down on my desk with my trusty dictionary and stop a couple of times in every page to search for a word and write it down (so I wouldn’t forget it).

But the years passed and the times I had to stop and consult my dictionary became fewer and fewer. And then came the era of electronic readers, and everything became even easier. Now, when I encounter a word I’m not familiar with, I just have to tap it with my finger and I get a definition. Easy as pie.

But, guess what?! It doesn’t work for audiobooks. Shocking, right?!

So, I’m already in search of the eBook or print book that would give me the visual to catch all these unknown words. I might even start using them. Who knows when I can bring up into conversations things like chemise or sally-port, right?!

Leave a Reply

