Oldies but goodies

Have I mentioned before that I have terrible memory? I’m sure I have. I must have.

I haven’t? Well, let me mention it now…

I have a terribly bad memory.

Of course, that trait really isn’t conductive to reading different books in a series with long waiting periods in between.

It didn’t help with reading The Queen of the Damned, either.

Queen of the Damned by Anne Rice

Queen of the Damned by Anne Rice

It has been years since I read this series, and there were a lot of things that I wished I remembered better.

Not to say that I didn’t enjoy it. It made me feel quite nostalgic, and reminded me that the reasons I love some books are varied.

While I can come to love a writer’s style and way with words and worlds, it is also possible and common occurrence with me to love a book simply by the originality of its ideas.

The Queen of the Damned by Anne Rice falls under the second category. I think Rice‘s style of writing is sometimes a bit slow in comparison to other more recent authors, but the mythology she created about the origin of the vampires and The Legend of the Twins is one of my favorites.

There are very few things that can beat an original point of view… at least as far as I’m concerned.

Now, this series is a very long one, and I stopped at the third book back then when I first took it up. I don’t know if I will ever finish it, but I keep feeling like this book is the perfect stopping point. I might hold it for a few more years.

Leave a Reply

