Unexpected Circumstances: The Handmaid

The Handmaid by Shay Savage

I think the only reason I couldn’t finish this book in one afternoon was my work schedule. I didn’t very much like that.

I’m no stranger to books that can be red non-stop through, nor have a problem with short books, and I’m definitely no stranger to Shay’s way to take you all the way through  story in segments without feeling like you stopped to change books.

The problem I had with the Handmaid was the fact that it felt more like a long prologue or a first chapter than like a whole story. There was really nothing going on there. You are barely starting to get  feel for what’s going on and who these character are, when the book is suddenly over.

I felt cheated. Of course, I’m going to read the whole series, but this one really felt like it could have come in a single book. 2/5

Beyond that, I couldn’t tell you much. I am intrigued, and you can definitely see some sexy moments coming your way… but nothing much has happened yet.

 

Leave a Reply

